Guest Post The Sanguinarian Id

I’m hosting L.M. Labat today, with a post about the editing process for her book, “The Sanguinarian Id”. Thank you for dropping by.

What is your editing process?

Multiple layers comprise my editing process. As my writing style and book series progress, I first research and learn more from my previous failures in earlier writings. I jot down all of the crucial mistakes I made and shift my attention to my current project. During the first editing draft, I go over any grammar, spelling, and punctuation issues, while trying to see if I can add more active voices in my work. While passive voice gives a poetic feel to the story, the stronger, more dominant active voice pushes the story and dialogue forward. This voice really enhances the drama and tension in action scenes. Once finishing the grammar, spelling, etc., I reread the first novel in the series, in order to make sure they sync up and that the chronological story line stays stable. I send my edits to my publisher. My publisher sends my work back to me after they edit what they want changed one chapter at a time. We go over the entire book chapter by chapter, and we don’t move on to the next chapter, until we come to a full compromise on what’s best for the reader. My stories are parts of myself, but I’m in the entertainment industry. I have to be considerate to my fans and audience, in order to create a smoother read. The dialogue in the story is its own layer, since I want the speech to be as natural as possible. When writing, I talk to myself…a lot. I talk to myself, while listening to my characters chew me out in my head about how I’d better not make them look like an idiot in the book. I constantly lose sleep, coffee doesn’t work for me like it used to, and, when I’m doing art commissions with my clients, I find myself talking to myself again about what would make the scene stronger. It’s a long process, but it’s worth it all the sleep deprivation, tension headaches, and research.

About the Book

Title: The Sanguinarian Id

Author: L.M. Labat

Artist: L.M. Labat

Genre: Horror, Historical Fiction, Paranormal, Occult, Gothic Horror

Publisher: Night to Dawn Magazine & Books

She’s been beaten, stabbed, poisoned, and shot, but Hael refuses to die. In her pursuit for vengeance and her origin, the Dhampir Hael hunts down the madman responsible for her fateful transformation. As this half-vampire juggernauts her way through a world at war, Hael battles hordes of Nazi soldiers as she struggles to maintain her sanity. However, while Hael gathers knowledge on how to trap and kill her target, her adversary’s network is expanding at an exponential rate, as his sick obsession with Hael grows deeper. Will she have her revenge? Will she find her origin? Or, will she crumble beneath her own insidious bloodlust?

 

 

Author Bio

Born in 1993, L. M. Labat stems from New Orleans, Louisiana. From the struggles of a broken family and surviving life-threatening events, Labat found refuge within the arts while delving into the fields of medicine, psychology, and the occult. While combining illustration and literature, L. M. Labat was able to cope with endless nightmares as well as hone in on artistic techniques. From confronting the past to facing new shadows, this author gladly invites audiences into the horror of The Sanguinarian Id.

 

Links

The Sanguinarian Id Website

Website Creator: L. M. Labat

https://thesanguinarianid.com/

Night to Dawn Magazine & Books Website:

Night to Dawn Magazine & Books Webiste

The Sanguinarian Id on Amazon

The Sanguinarian Id on B&N

Leave a comment

Filed under Guest Posts

Leave a Reply

