Guest Post Those Who Are Left

thosewholeft

Guest Post

Hello everyone!

I’m Josh Stricklin, which I have no doubt has already been stated somewhere in this post. I’m an author from Mississippi. I have a few books, and now I’ve taken my skills to the Internet. I have been asked to talk to the masses about my editing process. I know different has their very own, super-special way of making it work. Hey, I have done it differently every time.

I have two published books now, and while writing each of them I was in different places in my life. For my newest book, The King of Evil, a lot of the editing I did was the typical run-of-the-mill corrections, along with a lot of last-minute fact checking. The story was about voodoo, and I didn’t know much at all about it before I started writing. I spent a lot of time going back and making sure nothing was wonky with my information—other than the fictionalized parts I took special liberties with obviously.

For Those Who Are Left though, I was working on my first book. I didn’t know how to do it, and I was coming off a very serious injury that I have talked about ad nauseam in blogs and my website (thegreenroses.com).

I didn’t know how to edit. I just read and reread a bunch of times. That, of course, was a fun one to go back through. For a majority of the writing I was on painkillers, and my mind was swimming fairly often.

I sort of flailed around a lot during the editing process, but as for the story, I have found a pretty efficient way to edit.After I finish the initial run through. I take notes for all the major plot points and keep them by me as I go through the story again, checking for anything that my contradict something that comes up later in the book. For the book I’m working on now, that is especially important, because the narrative is told from multiple points of view. I know once I finish, I’ll be making comments about when each character discovers specific information and how a certain event changes each character. Keeping the notes on the story as I go through has been the best way for me to keep the story in order as I go. That’s something I’d suggest to people working on a book. Of course people have something that’ll work better for their individual books. This method has helped me a lot, and because I feel like the story is the most important part, I would tell people to at least give it a shot.

Thanks for reading!

About the Book

Title: Those Who Are Left

Author: Josh Stricklin

Genre: Horror

Thinking back to when everything changed, Derrick can never pinpoint if it was the pickaxe swinging toward his own face that alerted him or if he knew moments earlier when he saw the weapon hurtle toward the barn cat. Either way, he quickly realized that the man he was facing—a farm employee he knew well—was not only no longer a friend, he wasn’t even human any more.

An apocalyptic tale that surprises you with humor when it’s not terrifying you with horror, Those Who Are Left follows Derrick as he and two strangers venture through the major cities of the South in search of family and safety. But not all the human factions can be trusted, and if the trio can’t figure out what’s driving the different groups they could end up with enemies on all sides.

But even in a chaotic world of murderous screamers and posturing humans, there’s always time to play a few games of bowling before the slaughter begins…right?

Author Bio

Josh Stricklin is an American author and musician with degrees in English literature and advertising from the University of Southern Mississippi. His first novel, Those Who Are Left, made its debut in 2015. The terrifying follow up, The King of Evil, is available from Silver Leaf Books. He’s currently hard at work finishing his first series…or more likely reading comic books and wearing a Seahawks jersey.

 

Links

thegreenroses.com

https://www.facebook.com/thegreenroses/

https://twitter.com/ExplosionAction

https://www.instagram.com/explosionaction/

Purchase on Amazon

Leave a comment

Filed under Guest Posts

Leave a Reply

