Author Interview The Great Connection: Worlds in Waiting

greatconnectionbanner

Have you been writing for a long time? 

 

Most of my life, in one form or another, but only ‘seriously’ for the last seven years or so since I attempted to write a full length novel and enrolled on a creative writing course when I realised I needed to get a lot better. Since then I have been writing consistently and plan to carry on doing so for as long as I can tap away on a keyboard or lift a pen!

What inspired you to start a writing career?

 

Reading, mainly. I’ve read some very good books over the course of my life so far and thought, ‘I want to do that’, so I did. My first attempts weren’t very good so I endeavoured to educate myself, practice and try and get better. I still am trying! I think I always will be. I would probably stop if I ever thought, ‘yep, that’s it, I’ve cracked it’.

 

Is this book a stand-alone or part of a series?

 

The book is stand alone in that I have written it to be enjoyed as one story with a start middle and end. However, the world it is set in is much bigger than this particular story, and if I em ever inclined, and people would like me to, I may return to it again.

 

Why did you choose this genre? 

This book started from a premise about the advancement of certain contemporary technologies into the future, so speculative/science fiction was the only way to go. That said, I purposefully avoided going down the ‘hard’ science fiction route because I want contemporary readers to be able to identify with the characters and the world it is set in, so I hope it is accessible to cross-genre readers.

Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?

I can’t tell you about success in marketing and sales, or getting published by a mainstream publisher, as I am still working on that myself. If, however, you are struggling to start or finish something, then I would recommend enrolling on a creative writing course or getting some learning resources to help you along and break the process down. As romantic as the notion of writing a book sounds, it takes a lot of time and effort and you still may never be satisfied with the result!

About the Book

great-connection-high-resolutionTitle: The Great Connection: Worlds in Waiting

Author: Garry Abbott

Genre: Science Fiction

Following an unfortunate incident involving a delivery drone, a fishing net, and a very tall tree; Raif Masters finds himself forced by his overprotective alpha parents to spend his last school holiday exploring extraterrestrial worlds in ‘The Great Connection’: a real-time simulation of the observable universe, rendered into virtual reality home entertainment.

But Raif, a “child of three”, is not alone. Terry, bound to the service of the Masters family, is looking forward to a very early retirement after one last summer looking after his young charge.

Together they meet Cinder, a fellow simunaught who is seeking a crew to share a secret discovery from the other side of the galaxy that could change the life of the Masters, and the future of the Earth, forever.

But are some discoveries best left unconnected?

Author Bio

picture0044Garry Abbott is a science fiction author from Staffordshire in the UK where he lives with his wife and two cats.

Garry has published the short story collection ‘The Dimension Scales and Other Stories’, and his first full length space opera novel: ‘The Great Connection: Worlds in Waiting’. He is currently working on his third title, a sci-fi comedy, working title: ‘Transported’.

As well as writing science fiction, Garry has regularly contributed topical comedy sketches for the BBC and produced scripts for community arts productions and performances.

Garry’s influences include Isaac Asimov, Philip K. Dick, Ursula K. Le Guin, Terry Pratchett, Douglas Adams, Philip Pullman, George R. R. Martin and Dennis Potter.

Links

Amazon UK

Amazon US

Smashwords

B&N

Kobo

 

Author links:

Goodreads

Amazon.co.uk Author Page

Amazon.com Author Page

Website

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interviews

Leave a Reply

