Author Interview Mirror, Mirror

mirrormirrorbanner

Have you been writing for a long time? 

Haha, funny question. Technically, yes. I’ve been writing since elementary school. I even have a short story I wrote in middle school tucked under my bed. It’s hand written on a spiral notebook, and it’s about a girl, a guy, and a horse. And get your mind out of the gutter, because I was only twelve when I wrote it! 

The answer you’re probably looking for is since 2009. I stopped writing when I was in college and discovered partying as a hobby. That eventually led to meeting my husband, which led to having kids, which led to a whole lot of focus on things other than writing. And then the recession hit in 2009 and I found myself jobless, with no employment prospects whatsoever, and an utterly overwhelming urge to write. So I picked it up again and wrote probably two dozen books in some capacity before I returned to a day job in 2010. Now, I write with every free minute I have, which means I don’t get nearly as many words written anymore.  

 

What inspired you to start a writing career? 

I finally figured out what I wanted to be when I grew up. I graduated with a liberal arts degree because I had no clue what I wanted to do with myself and for some reason convinced myself writing was not a real career. Now that I’ve rediscovered my passion, I only wish it could be my sole career.  

 

Is this book a stand-alone or part of a series?   

MIRROR, MIRROR is a stand-alone novella, although I have been toying with writing stories for some of the other characters in the book. It’s a great example of my writing style, though, so if you enjoy reading it, you’ll probably like my other books. 

 

Why did you choose this genre? 

I write both contemporary and paranormal romance, and can easily flip back and forth between the two. Writing MIRROR, MIRROR was like writing both genres at the same time. The magic is reasonably subtle, so a contemporary fan could pick it up and enjoy it for what it is: a saucy, funny romance. 

 

Do you have any advice for aspiring authors? 

Edit, edit, edit. If you’re going to go the self-publishing route, you need to buck up the upfront cash to ensure your book is quality enough to be published. It’s far too easy to self-publish these days, and if you do so without turning it into a professional book first, it will be reflected in your reviews. And there are a lot of readers like myself who always look at reviews before buying (even a free read), and if I see a single one that indicates the editing isn’t up to snuff, it’s a hard pass for me.

About the Book

Young girl in a white dressTitle: Mirror, Mirror

Author: Tami Lund

Genre: Paranormal

Adelle Hendrix doesn’t believe in hocus pocus. She doesn’t believe in happily ever after, either. So when she sees her best friend, Ben Jackson, in a supposedly enchanted mirror, she decides she’s not the crazy one, the loony old gypsy woman who showed her the mirror is.

Except that crazy old woman won’t leave her alone, and the more frequently she and her jack-o-lantern with the ever-changing carved faces show up, the more Adelle begins to wonder… Are she and Ben meant to be more than friends?

This book is not meant to be read by readers who are looking for a serious, boring read with a tragic ending. Only fans of funny and everlasting romance should pick this one up.

Author Bio

Tami Lund Headshot 2014Tami Lund writes. And drinks wine. She also loves romance, and is writing happily ever afters, one book at a time.

Tami writes paranormal and contemporary romance, often with a dose of suspense. Chances are, there is a new book coming out soon. Be sure to stalk her on social media, so you know when.

And most important, if you enjoyed one of Tami’s books, please let other readers know by leaving a review on the site from which you bought it. Otherwise, how will they know which book to read next?

Social Media Links:

Tami’s Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorTamiLund?ref=hl

Tami’s started a Facebook group, which highlights a different author each month, and is designed to give readers a chance to get to know authors, not just get the “hard sell:” https://www.facebook.com/groups/WineWithTami/

Follow Tami on Twitter: https://twitter.com/TamiLundAuthor

Enjoy Tami’s visual inspiration on Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/TamiLundAuthor/

And if you want to keep up with the latest and greatest, signup for Tami’s monthly newsletter: http://www.subscribepage.com/Tami_Lund

If you follow Tami’s Amazon author page, you’ll get an email when a new book releases: Amazon Author Page

Website (there’s a free read available only here, oh, and she blogs here, too!): http://tamilund.com

Oh, yeah, Instagram, too: https://instagram.com/tamilundauthor/

Links

Amaozn

iBooks

Kobo

B&N

Smashwords

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interviews

Leave a Reply

