Guest Post Hero High: Figure in the Flames

herohighbanner

Guest Post : My Editing Process

My editing process is mostly me banging my head against a table. I know this because Hero High isn’t my first book, it’s just the first one to be published and because I think I’ve worked out a good process, it was much quicker to write than my earlier attempts.

But, in all seriousness, if you’re genuinely looking for tips on the editing process, here’s what I have to say on mine.

–     One, I minimize how much I need to edit, by simply, not winging it. I sit on the floor, get some cards, write down each scene, consult story structure, move the cards around, throw some out, settle on a skeleton for my story. This saves me a lot of time.

–     Second, I leave it for a minimum of two weeks after the first draft. I take a break, read some books, watch a TV show. Because when I go back into it, I’ll be able to see all the problems so much better.

–     Third, I don’t send my first draft out to anyone. I mean it, don’t do it! Just don’t. I’m watching you.

–     Fourth, cut it down. Even as I’m writing this, I’m cutting chunks out, and re writing parts to be more concise. Look, I know it’s attractive to have a great hulking book, it’s impressive, and you want to show it off, like, ‘everyone look at me, and the big smartie I am’. Don’t do it! It’s hard, I know, I recently had to come to terms with making my book smaller in order to reduce the production cost of the paperback, but I highly recommend being brutal, make a copy of the book, and just tear into it, re shape, mutilate, and carve that book into something better.

–     Lastly, the most important part of my editing process, is Scrivener. I love Scrivener. The software helps me move scenes about, and it helps me think in scenes rather than chapters, which I find helpful. I organise the manuscript by scene and Scrivener allows me to view them like a collection of index cards or an outline, whatever I’m in the mood for. I can move a scene to a chapter later, take a snapshot of it as it is now, and do a brutal revision with confidence. I would NOT be able to do that using Word or any word prcessor I know. I can’t even imagine using word to write a book, how archaic. Plus there is a new version of scrivener for ios, I haven’t used it much so far, but you can bet I will.

Anyway, that’s my editing process, it’s harsh, I hope this insight to my process was entertaining, if not helpful.

About the Book

SMALL_COVERTitle: Hero High: The Figure in the Flames

Author: Mina Chara

Genre: YA Mystery Romance

Reality TV meets Superhero High School in this intriguing story about friendship, fame, and what it means to be a hero.

In Icon City superheroes save the day every day on the quarter hour. Lead by Captain Fantastic, scores of super celebrities do their best to train the next generation; seventeen year old Friday Fitzsimmons and Jake her childhood friend, are their latest starstruck recruits. When Doctor Dangerous returns from the dead and the Figure in Flames decimates the city, Captain Fantastic is betrayed by one of his own.

Torn between Jake, Ashley and her feelings for Doctor Dangerous, Friday must decide if her childhood friend is worth fighting for, and if the world’s most famous super-villain is worth saving, all while learning how to be a hero.

Author Bio

Mina Chara likes superheroes, chinese food and spending time with her dog. She dislikes dark, gritty superhero movies and tales of the dystopian future. Generally optimistic she writes stories that reflect her love of color (especially blue) as well as her sense of humor.

Born in London Mina enjoyed story telling as a child, but was diagnosed as severely dyslexic aged eight. Advised to stick to art and forget writing, Mina decided to do both and her paintings have so far been featured in two exhibitions. She still struggles with her dyslexia and finds writing a challenge, but refuses to be limited. Hero High: Figure in the Flames is the third book she has written, but the first to be published. Mina is currently studying for a bachelor’s degree in creative writing.

Links

Hero High: Figure in the Flames on Kindle

Mina Chara Author Page

Mina Chara Tumblr

Mina Chara Facebok Page

Giveaway

Win a $20 Amazon gift card and bookmarks during the release!

Go here for the giveaway
https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

1 Comment

Filed under Guest Posts

One response to “Guest Post Hero High: Figure in the Flames

  1. I also cannot imagine writing a novel using anything but Scrivener. It is such an amazing tool! Good luck with your book release!

Leave a Reply

