Author Interview Running to Stand Still

runningstandstillbanner
Have you been writing for a long time?
 
I’ve been writing full-time (as in, not working any other job) for about four years. Before that, I dabbled with fiction and article writing for my high school newspaper

What inspired you to start a writing career?
 
Storytelling has always been a part of my life. I’ve grown up reading books, watching movies and television series, and playing Dungeons & Dragons with my dad. Wherever I was, I’d look around and think, there has to be more than meets the eye here. What’s under the surface? What’s the story? And I just have to believe that something beautiful and transformative will come out of the dark places of heartbreak and disappointment we all go through.
When I was a senior in high school, I had been with my boyfriend (now husband) for two years and I was really scared of losing him (still am). The more I thought about it, this story of a woman who loses her fiancé suddenly in a car crash started to form in my head. So, I started writing her story down. I didn’t finish her story until a year after I graduated from college, and by then, more story ideas had invaded my head, so I just kept writing.
Is this book a stand-alone or part of a series?  
 
It is a part of the Benson Family series. Jamie’s brother, Nate, will be getting his own book.
Why did you choose this genre?
 
New Adult romance is what moves me the most right now as a reader. Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire changed my life. It resonated with me so deeply, so emotionally that I’m kind of addicted to the feeling now. I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately, why romance is such a huge genre, and I think a lot of it comes down to how it makes us feel as readers. Most of our day to day existence is so dull and monotonous, and while we can get some satisfaction out of the vicarious experience of an action book or a thriller, most of us are not Jason Bourne (oh, how I wish!), most of us are not jumping across rooftops or fighting orcs or scaling mountains, so that experience can only resonate with us so much. But happiness? Love? Sex? Those are real things in our actual day to day lives that we can experience, that we can relate to, that we can hope for, that make us feel alive and human. And I think that’s why I keep coming back to the genre again and again.
Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?
Do it how you want to do it. And don’t listen to anyone else. Define what success looks like to you and then do it your way.
I’ve recently redefined was success looks like to me, and that is: writing the stories I want to write, when and how I want to write them. There’s a lot of freedom in that for me and I love it!

About the Book

Cover copyTitle: Running to Stand Still

Author: Lauran Rosolino

Genre: NA Romance

Collin was who he was: simple and easy.

                Me? I was jagged and complex. I wanted everything.

                And despite how he made me feel—safe—it was clear to me that we’d never work out in the end.

                That divide between us would always be there.

                Because I’d never ask him to give up on the things he wanted.

                And, while I sometimes wished I could be that person, I wasn’t.

Just seven more months. Then Jamie Benson can leave this goodbye town behind her and start her new life in Chicago. She can leave this place of broken glass and cracked sidewalks and rusted fences. This place that holds nothing good. She can leave the ghosts and spinning rooms and shattered promises in her rearview mirror and never look back.

But all the stories she’s been telling herself are threatened when, one night, while tending bar at her father’s hole-in-the-wall dive, she meets Collin—a boy who is good and honest and sincere in a world where everything is harsh and cold and detached. A boy who makes her feel safe.  A boy worth staying for.

Will Jamie be able to untangle the truths from the lies? Or will the sins of the past swallow her whole?

Author Bio

Jesse Speelman Photography www.jessespeelman.comAuthor of The Charm Necklace and Running to Stand Still. Writer of stories about finding beauty in brokenness.

She is a storyteller. Adventuer. Partner. Coffee drinker. Magic believer. Rebel with a gypsy soul. Lover of the woods and books, the woods and walks.

Born and bred in Detroit, Lauren grew up reading Harry Potter, watching Gilmore Girls, listening (and dancing) to a lot of music, and wondering why people do what they do. She graduated from Wayne State University with a BA in Psychology. Lauren lives with her husband, dog, cat, and bunny in Charleston, South Carolina.

To find out more and read her blog, Wonderstruck, visit www.laurenrosolino.com.

Links

Website: www.laurenrosolino.com

Amazon: Amazon

Goodreads – https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8306807.Lauren_Rosolino

Twitter: twitter.com/laurenrosolino

Instagram: instagram.com/laurenrosolino

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interviews

Leave a Reply

