Guest Post Spell Breaker

spellbreakerbanner

My Editing Process by Joni Parker

Over the years, my editing process has evolved.  After I wrote my first book, I edited it myself and thought I had caught all the errors.  However, soon after I published it, I found some more errors and corrected them by uploading another edition of the ebook.  I started on my second book and decided to check out an editor to save myself some work.  She made several edits, nothing major and everything else was fine.  I had her review my first book and once again, she made a few minor edits, so I published another edition of my first ebook (third edition). 

Unfortunately, when I was in the process of editing the print version of my first book, I found out that my editor wasn’t as good as I thought she was.  I’d found a book called, “Self-Editing for Fiction Writers” by Renni Brown and Dave King.  It was the first time one of these books on editing made sense to me.  I reviewed my first book again and found countless errors.  I was horrified.  I blogged about the book and received an email from Renni Brown who told me about her website, http://editorialdepartment.com/.  I sent my manuscript in for review and found my editor, Teresa Kennedy.  She reviewed both manuscripts and made a lot of corrections.  I published the first book again (fourth edition) and I’ve been with her ever since.  She has her own business at http://booksneditsvgp.com/.

My editing process now involves only Teresa and myself.  I’ve used beta readers in the past, but haven’t had much success.  Anyway, it begins with my rough draft.  I edit it and let it sit for a while and go over it again.  When it’s ready, I send it to Teresa.  She takes about a month to go over it and sends it back with her recommendations, which can be anything from punctuation to character motivation.  I review her suggestions and make corrections.  I trust her judgment, but sometimes, I want to keep a scene or character that she doesn’t think is necessary, so I change it to fit.  After I go over the changes and re-read the manuscript again, I’ll send it back for third review.  Each trip to Teresa costs me money, but I learned my lesson with my first book.  During this process, I’ll read my manuscript at least ten times in different ways.  I print it in two column format, change the font size, and read it out loud.  In spite of my best efforts, some mistakes still appear and I have to live with them.    

Working with my editor has been a very creative process.  Teresa will often push my boundaries into areas I never thought of.  I don’t take any of her criticisms personally, at least not any more.  I know she’s trying to help me produce the best book possible. 

About the Book

Spell Breaker 1Title: Spell Breaker

Author: Joni Parker

Genre: Fantasy

After Lady Alexin (Alex) breaks the spell around Seaward Isle, the inhabitants can leave the island for the first time in a thousand years.  At long last, the Elves and Dwarves can return home to Eledon, while the mortals are given the opportunity to stay or leave through a portal to the mortal world.  Alex chooses to stay with her Elf family only to be involved in a mission to rid the Elf World of its most notorious criminal, Sawgrass.  Alex must eliminate him before he implements his plan to kill her Water Elf family and take over Eledon.

Author Bio

orig_27374_020 (738x1024) (461x640) (288x400)Born in Chicago, Illinois, Joni left with her family when she was eight and lived for four years in Japan.  Upon return to the States, she and her family moved to Phoenix, Arizona.   She graduated from Camelback High School and attended Arizona State University until she dropped out and joined the Navy.  After three years as a Photographer’s Mate, she got out of the Navy, married a career sailor, and returned to college completing a bachelor’s and master’s degree at the University of West Florida in Pensacola, Florida.  She returned to the Navy as a commissioned officer and retired with over twenty-two years of service.  While active duty, she was selected to attend the U.S. Army Command and General Staff College and attained a Master of Military Arts and Sciences degree.  After her retirement, she traveled the country with her husband in a motorhome until he passed away.  Joni returned to the workforce for another seven years and retired again to devote time to her writing.  She currently resides in Tucson, Arizona.

Links

Website/blog:  http://www.theblackelf.com

Facebook

 Twitter

Google Plus

Goodreads

 Trailer for the Seaward Isle Saga

 

1 Comment

Filed under Guest Posts

One response to “Guest Post Spell Breaker

  1. jonitheblackelf

    Thanks for hosting my book! I appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

