Guest Post The Chosen

thechosenbanner

I’m hosting a guest post today for the tour for “The Chosen”, a M/M fantasy romance by Annette Gisby. Without further ado, I’ll leave the word to Annette now. Welcome to my blog, Annette.

My Editing Process

by Annette Gisby

When I first finish a book or story, I leave it for a couple of weeks and then go back to read through it. Doing that means you approach it with a fresh set of eyes. You’re more likely at that point to see what is actually on the page, rather than what you think is there. Humans have a knack for seeing things that are wrong and correcting them in their head. If my husband has time, I get him to give it a once-over before I send it off to the editor.

I also give it a long read all at once, to check for continuity and flow. Does the character wear trousers in one paragraph and then the next she’s wearing a skirt? A scene like that actually happened in a very famous trade-published novel – the woman was wearing jeans in one paragraph, then her boyfriend lifted her up in a hug in the next and her skirt flared out around her 😉 I read it years ago and I still remember that scene.

I use the spell-checker as routine, but that is only the first step. A spell-checker won’t point out that you may have written ‘your’ instead of ‘you’re’, for example. I do know the difference between ‘there’ and ‘their’ but sometimes you accidentally write the wrong one. My spelling is fairly good, but my brain goes faster than my fingers when I’m typing so I do make typos. My usual ones are ‘adn’ for ‘and’ and ‘form’ for ‘from’, even though I know which word I want.

For a long time I thought that ‘blond’ and ‘blonde’ were an American vs UK spelling, but as my editor pointed out to me, the difference is you should use ‘blond’ for a male character and ‘blonde’ for female, as the word comes from French, with different spelling/grammar for masculine and feminine words. You learn something new every day!

I normally have 2-3 rounds of edits, going back and forth between me and my editor until  the book is as perfect as it can be, or hope it is.

I’m sure a stray comma or a misspelled word might sneak in sometimes but I try my hardest to make it as error-free as possible. The readers deserve no less.

About the Book

chosen_promoTitle: The Chosen
Author: Annette Gisby
Genre: M/M Fantasy Romance

The neighbouring kingdoms of Oscia and Arcathia have been at a tentative peace for three years after centuries of warfare. Prince Severin of Arcathia has been brought up to put duty before all else and as the only son of the King and Queen, it is his duty to marry and produce an heir. His parents want him to marry an Oscian princess to cement that tentative peace. Unfortunately Severin isn’t interested in princesses. Now, if he had his pick of princes that would be another matter.

Havyn has been a slave all his life. When his aptitude for wizardry is discovered, he finds himself purchased and freed by Prince Severin and apprenticed to the royal wizard, Ildar. His duty is to stay chaste to keep his powers strong, but his feelings for Severin sorely test his resolve.

With kingdoms at war, the throne hanging in the balance, magic in the air, and outside forces trying to keep them apart, can the two men find happiness together, or is duty more important than love?

Buy Links: Allromance | Amazon | Amazon UK | Smashwords | BN

Author Bio

author_annetteAnnette Gisby grew up in a small town in Northern Ireland moving to London when she was seventeen. Being a very small town there were no bookshops and a small library. When she’d devoured every book she could get her hands on in the library, she started writing her own stories so she would always have something to read later.

When not writing she enjoys reading, cinema, theatre, walks along deserted beaches or wandering around ruined castles (great places for inspiration!) She loves travelling to distant places to see different cultures first hand, even though she gets travel sick on most forms of transport.

She currently lives in Hamsphire with her husband, a collection of porcelain dolls, cuddly toys and enough books to fill a library.

Social Links:

http://annettegisby.weebly.com/

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/252221.Annette_Gisby

http://www.amazon.com/Annette-Gisby/e/B002BLL62C/

https://uk.pinterest.com/annetteg2/

https://twitter.com/havyn

1 Comment

Filed under Guest Posts

One response to “Guest Post The Chosen

  1. Thanks for hosting me 🙂

Leave a Reply

