Guest Post The Demon’s Grave

demongravebanner

I would like to welcome E.M. MacCallum to my blog, author of dark urban fantasy “The Demon’s Grave”. The author talks about editing process today.

Topic: Editing Process

This is one of the most annoying things about writing a story, and probably the most important. I’ve dabbled in trying to find a pattern, and eventually came down to a few set rules that haven’t steered me wrong, yet. This is subject to change, and might not work forever, but I like it so far. I have three stages of editing.

Stage One:
Re-read. I go through the whole story, fill holes that I missed, or take away scenes that are unimportant. I cut, slash, copy, and paste. It’s basically a giant mess. My desk will be coated in sticky notes, My phone full of new ideas in the Notes, and my frustration levels at their highest. But, once it’s done, it’s a dang good feeling. This is the longest stage ever, but if I learned anything when growing up on a farm it’s that you don’t want to shovel manure, but someone has to do it.

Stage Two:
I go through the chapters, never in order. I will go through the sentences this time. If the story isn’t in order then I’m less likely to get caught up in reading the actual story. My mind tends to do that, then I get caught in the whirlwind of Stage One. It’s better to just clip and snip sentences and find words that I use far too often and wipe them clean, or find a new way to say what I’m trying to convey. This one is tedious, but I find it crisps things up, makes them a little prettier. I need a lot of caffeine for this stage.

Stage Three:
The final read through. I export that puppy as a PDF, send it to my phone or iPad, or whatever that has “Voice Over”.  I listen to it. I listen to every word (typos always exist), how the story flows, what feels right/wrong. I’ll make notes as I go as well. This is usually seven to eight hours of my time, so I keep it on a day I don’t have plans. Once the notes are all gathered, the next day is usually implementing them if I can’t while listening. This stage is my favorite, unless I find major problems. If I do, I go back to Stage One, then back to Stage Three again. Eventually, it does come out of a ringer, and when it does, I like to be proud of it.

Thanks for allowing me time on your blog!

About the Book

The Demon's Grave front cover draftTitle: The Demon’s Grave

Author: E.M. MacCallum

Genre: Dark Urban Fantasy

When strange shadows and messages plague Nora’s daily life she fears for her sanity. To escape questions from her family, Nora joins her friends on a weekend getaway. Despite not liking Aidan Birket, Nora finds his remote, Victorian house charming. Until they discover the marble doorway on the third floor and, against Nora’s better judgment, they open it.

Trespassing into an unfamiliar world called the Demon’s Grave, the group face a charismatic demon and six nightmarish Challenges as punishment. Those that make it to the end can go home, but those that don’t will be his forever. Friendships are tested, secrets revealed and sacrifices will be made.

Nora battles zombies, doppelgängers, eyeless bikers, and the demon—whose interests are more than just a game of cat and mouse. If it’s all in her head, then it should be easy. But, if not, it means the demon knows about her sticky past, and the death of her twin sister.

Book Links:

Amazon ( http://smarturl.it/demonsgrave ) | Goodreads | Smashwords | Createspace | Kobo | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | LibraryThing |

Author Bio

EMMacCallum Author PhotoE.M. loves long walks through bookstores, Disney, horror movies/books, anything supernatural, and researching random facts. She lives by a lake out in the Canadian wilderness with internet access, her husband, and a rag-tag band of pets.

“The Demon’s Grave” trilogy came out mid-2015

“Zombie-Killer Bill” novella will be re-released 2015

If you’d like to know more, please visit: www.emmaccallum.com

Author Links:

WEBPAGE: www.emmaccallum.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorE.M.MacCallum

Twitter @EMMacCallum: https://twitter.com/EMMacCallum

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4678325.E_M_MacCallum

Amazon Author Page: http://amazon.com/author/emmaccallum

1 Comment

Filed under Guest Posts

One response to “Guest Post The Demon’s Grave

  1. Thank you for the opportunity to do a Guest Post for you blog! And for being part of the tour.

Leave a Reply

