Guest Post Child of War – A God is Born

childwarbanner

Please welcome Lisa Beth Darling, author of mythological fantasy “Child of War – A God is Born” on my blog today.

Guest Post

When I was a young writer, back in the Dark Ages, working with an electric typewriter and onion skin paper for carbons, I used to write a story from beginning to end. No stopping. Just writing.  Upon finishing it, I’d go back and read it, make spelling and grammar corrections, fill up the margins with notes, circle huge chunks of text to move to another chapter or cross them out altogether. Then go back and type all 500 pages over again. Then do the editing one more time just to be sure it was right or as close as I could get it.  I think that’s the best way to do it.

With the advent of computers the editing process became so much easier and somewhere along the line I fell into the worst possible habit; editing as I write.  I know just how it happened; spellcheck.  The first few books I wrote on a computer I stuck to the above editing process but then that process fell by the wayside as spellcheck, like computers themselves, grew out of its infancy. MSWordPad became MSWord and suddenly it automatically underlined a variety of misspelled words.  I started catching them as I wrote so I didn’t have to deal with them later. Then came grammar check and these green lines started popping up as I wrote. I’d take care of that as well quickly coming to despise the “passive voice” and tried everything I could to get rid of it. It also doesn’t like “fragments” or “wordy” sentences so, as I wrote, I was trying to clean those up as well. Before I knew it, I was stuck in a combination of Writing and Editing Modes.

Quite honestly, it’s annoying and takes oodles of time away from the actual writing process. It drives me bonkers but I guess that’s one of the pitfalls of living in the Digital Age. It’s so easy to edit as I go, to take large chunks of text delete them from one spot and drop them in somewhere else or to just drop it into a junk file that I can refer to later if I want to grab it believing it will make a good fit in another chapter.

Once I know I’ve taken a story as far as I can that’s when I give it to my crew of beta readers. I compare each of their files line by line, word by word, with the master file and make changes in spelling and grammar accordingly. It’s a good thing I have more than one beta reader because each of them seems to catch different things. By now they’ve become totally accustomed to my horrible habit of either dropping or misusing three letter words. It’s *always* words with three letters that happens to, I also seem to have a bad habit of switching genders and typing ‘he’ when it should be ‘she’ and vice versa. Spell and grammar check have a nasty way of not catching those mistakes and my eyes usually just gloss over it as my brain substitutes the right word for the wrong one.  I never even notice it until the files start coming back to me with their red font. It’s a strange little quirk, one I wish I could change but it seems there’s little to nothing I can do about it.

After all of the files have been merged I do one last spell/grammar check on the whole file reading as I go to make sure everything flows. Then it’s on to formatting and publishing, giving it a little kiss and a squeeze as I send it out the digital door into the real world hoping for the best.

 

About the Book

01finalfrontcoverTitle: Child of War – A God is Born

Author: Lisa Beth Darling

Genre: Adult Paranormal / Mythological Contemporary

Do you remember Damien? Raven makes that kid look like an angel.

In book #2 of the OF WAR Series, Ares settles down with his wife, Alena, to await the birth of their son, Raven. As Alena struggles to enjoy what should be a blessed event, prophetic visions of an adult Raven haunt her dreams. Are they true visions or false ones implanted by Cernunnos who told her the boy would bring glory to Ares but only pain and agony to her? The strong but delicate Fey is relentlessly bombarded by hostility from the Olympians making her yearn to be back on Ares’ secluded island home, far away from all the bickering and backstabbing that makes up Life on mighty Mount Olympus.

Before Raven is even born, Zeus outwardly despises him for his Fey blood given to him by his filthy Celtic mother. With no way out and no way to keep his family safe from his father, Zeus the God of Gods, Ares enters into a blood pact that could cost the God of War everything he holds dear.

After a harrowing birth wherein mother and son are nearly lost to Ares, it quickly becomes clear that Raven may be the most powerful and cunning Olympian ever born despite his muddled bloodline.

As Zeus, Apollo, and Aphrodite plot against the new family by carefully planting the seeds of rage and doubt in Raven’s mind, they turn son against mother. It appears as though Alena’s visions and Cernunnos’ prophecy are coming to life as Raven grows to be a very angry young man.

As the true past between the Olympians and Celts is revealed, the battle for Ravens’ mind and the ultimate control of Olympus begins. Before it’s over, the white snows of Olympus will run red with blood.

 

Author Bio

lb_darlingIt was in the 4th grade when Lisa Beth Darling discovered she was a naturally gifted writer. For her very first creative writing assignment, the teacher asked the class to pen a story about a baby bird’s first flight and read them to the class. Putting pencil to paper, Lisa was instantly whisked away by a force she couldn’t explain. When they were finished, all of the children read their happy stories to the class. Not Lisa. She got up and told of how the baby bird flew too high, hit a plane, crashed to the ground and died. She told of how the mama bird and daddy bird cried of how even God was upset sending the rains pouring from the sky. The class was speechless when she finished all they could do was stare at her. The teacher kept her after class told her the story was very good but it was different from the others. She asked Lisa if she’d ever heard of Icarus and had she based her story on him. Lisa had yet to encounter Greek Mythology or hear a whisper of Icarus. As Lisa left the classroom the teacher again told her how good the story was but suggested she might want to write something happier next time. Perplexed, Lisa turned and asked her teacher: “Why?” The teacher had no answer. Luckily for us, Lisa never took that teacher’s advice.

Today she brings us complex multi-layered stories rich with the trials and tribulations that make up the world in which we live. Not one to be pigeonholed into any single genre, Lisa’s stories revolve around the intricacies of couples from range the intimacy of lovers, to mothers and sons, and brothers and sisters.

Lisa Beth Darling is 49 years-old, lives in her hometown of New London, CT with her husband of nearly 30 years, Roy. She is the author of more than fifteen novels along with several short stories and non-fiction books.

 

Links

Website: http://www.lisabethdarling.com

Blog: http://lbdarling.wordpress.com

Twitter: @lb_darling

Facebook: http://facebook.com/lbdarling

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1577311.Lisa_Beth_Darling

 

Purchase Links:

Kindle/Amazon (paperbacks available on Amazon): http://amazon.com/author/lisadarling

Nook: http://barnesandnoble.com/c/lisa-beth-darling

iBooks: https://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/lisa-beth-darling/id411650358?mt=11

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/lisadarling

 

1 Comment

Filed under Guest Posts

One response to “Guest Post Child of War – A God is Born

  1. Hello,
    Thanks so much for having me here! The post looks wonderful. If anyone has any questions for me please feel free to ask.

Leave a Reply

