Author Interview Cold-Blooded

coldbloodedbanner
1) Have you been writing for a long time?
 
I’ve been writing since I was eleven years old so almost 30 years. I used to write poems and short stories but as I got older, the novel became my true passion. I like a good, long story.

2) What inspired you to start a writing career?
 
Well, I had always written stories and books. It took me until I was nearly thirty to produce something I felt other people might actually enjoy reading. Once I had that, I decided it was time to start pursuing publication. Six years later what would become my first published novel, Finding Claire Fletcher was published. Being able to share my stories with readers has been a truly amazing experience, and the response people have had to my books has been so incredible. It just keeps inspiring me to tell more stories.

3) Is this book a stand alone or part of a series?
 
Cold-Blooded is technically the sequel to my third novel, Hold Still. However, it can be read as a stand-alone. The mystery that is at the heart of this book has absolutely nothing to do with any of my other books so you can read this one without reading Hold Still and it would be perfectly fine.

4) Why did you choose this genre?
 
It sort of chose me. I always wanted to take a stab at literary fiction. Then two of my family members were murdered, and I began reading true crime books. Reading about other families going through what we were going through helped me feel less alone. After a time, it became too difficult to read those books knowing that the people I was reading about were real, so I started reading crime fiction. It offered the same consolation and escape but I knew that the people I read about had not actually suffered because they were not real. Then that became the thing that I wanted to write because that’s where I was the most comfortable.

5) Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?
 
Write, write, write, write, write and write. And did I mention that you should write? Then, after that, you should write some more. And when you’ve finished, write some more. Then write after that. That is the number one thing I would say. Write everything and anything. Write as much as you can. Every spare minute. Write everywhere. If you’re lucky enough to have a writing space, that’s awesome but also keep a notebook on you wherever you go and write in it every chance you get. You’ll never get better if you don’t keep writing, keep practicing. Get it out. Get used to getting it out and fixing it later. That’s how it works. Vomit up all the stuff in your head onto the blank page without thought and then later, you can rearrange it into something worth reading. The most important thing is to put words on the page. My second biggest piece of advice would be to find other writers who will be willing to help you and get some honest critiques from them. Take their advice. Edit. Revise. Get better. You need eyes on your work before it goes out into the world.

About the Book

Cold_Blooded_Ebook_FinalTitle: Cold-Blooded

Author: Lisa Regan

Genre: Mystery / Thriller

Fourteen years ago, high school track star Sydney Adams was gunned down in Philadelphia’s Fairmount Park. The investigation yielded useless clues, and the case went cold. But homicide detective Augustus Knox never gave up on finding Sydney’s killer. Now, retired from the police force and with only months to live, he enlists the help of private investigator Jocelyn Rush to clear the case once and for all.

Armed with little more than a theory as to who murdered Sydney, Jocelyn tries to lure a killer into the open. But unraveling the mystery means facing off against a cunning psychopath whose ruthlessness knows no bounds. When more bodies start to pile up, Jocelyn has to decide just how far she’s willing to go to catch a cold-blooded killer.

Author Bio

LisaReganAuthorPhotoRegSizeLisa Regan is an Amazon bestselling crime/suspense novelist. She has a Bachelor’s Degree in English and Master of Education Degree from Bloomsburg University. She is a member of Sisters In Crime, Mystery Writers of America and International Thriller Writers. She lives in Philadelphia with her husband and daughter. Her debut novel, Finding Claire Fletcher won Best Heroine and was runner up in Best Novel in the eFestival of Words Best of the Independent eBook Awards for 2013. Her second novel, Aberration won Best Twist in the 2014 eFestival of Words Best of the Independent Book Awards. Her third novel, Hold Still was released by Thomas & Mercer in 2014 and has been translated into German. She is at work on her fifth novel. Find out more at www.lisaregan.com.

Author Links

Website: http://www.lisaregan.com/

Amazon Author Page

Facebook

Twitter

Goodreads

Buy the Book

Amazon

iTunes

Nook

Kobo

Amazon UK

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interviews

Leave a Reply

