Guest Post The Ivory Staff

ivorystaffbanner

Today’s guest is M. Lachi, author of new adult fantasy “The Ivory Staff”. Welcome to my blog!

The Editing Process: Scary but Necessary

Writing the book is the easy part. Editing the book; that’s the tough part. Though we all (at least slightly) cringe at the thought of being corrected by a third party, it’s definitely wise to acknowledge one’s fortes and weaknesses when it comes to their writing and to openly accept outside critiques.  After all, the finished product is not intended for you to read alone but for you to share to the furthest reach possible, so you’d want it to be better than the best you could have made it on your own.

My editing process goes a little something like this.  I first allow the story to take shape on the page, unedited, unfiltered—a deluge of content.  I then re-read what I’ve written, and more often than not, I read parts aloud (especially dialogue) to ensure proper readability.  I want to really feel myself as the character or to really feel present in the setting, scene or concept.

After self-editing I send the work to an editor.  A professional editor would be optimal, but if the budget won’t allow it, I believe a friend you know to be great with proof reading works fine. I then go through and implement all of the feedback provided by the editor that I agree with (which is usually most of it).

Next I put together a reading circle of about five to ten friends, supporters or readers whose feedback I respect, give them a copy of the manuscript, a curated questionnaire, and a date for them to meet and discuss outside of my presence.  Apart from general questions regarding content, consistency, thoughts and musings, I ask them for suggestions regarding the title, cover art, blurb, genre and target marketing.

Again I go through and implement all of the feedback provided by the reading circle with my editor.  After we’re both content, the manuscript then gets sent out to the publisher for formatting.  Once I receive the final Ready-to-Go version….well, I proofread one more time!  This is the worst part of the process because I want so badly not to find a mistake or rewrite!

But after giving the green light to that final read, it’s then time to hit “Send,” “Print,” “Go” or whatever button one presses to say, “I’m done! This book is published!” In my case it was a call to my publisher assuring him I’m finally satisfied.

To me, editing is the most daunting part of the book creation process but certainly the most necessary.

About the Book

The ivory staff book coverTitle: The Ivory Staff

Author: M. Lachi

Genre: New Adult Fantasy

How was young Samiyah to know that her simple grace, wit, and beauty—exceptional traits given her peasant class—would land her in the middle of a chessboard of high-level political turmoil or that the love that blinds politics, the hate that blinds brotherhood, and the lust that blinds love would flip that chessboard on its side? Rife with passionate dialog, edgy suspense, and epic conflict, this Dark Fairy Tale follows our heroine as she journeys to heal a nation broken by the internal prejudices of class warfare, armed with nothing but stark determination.

Author Bio

M. Lachi is a published author and an award nominated songwriter and composer. Her resume includes features on Oprah Radio, CBS Radio, The CW, Oxygen, and the E! and Style Networks among others. M. Lachi lives in New York City and enjoys reading, composing and catching live performances.

Links

Amazon Kindle: http://tinyurl.com/na97ur7

GoodReads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/26311689-the-ivory-staff?from_search=true&search_version=service

Website: www.mlachi.com

Twitter: twitter.com/mlachiauthor

Facebook: facebook.com/mlachiauthor

Leave a comment

Filed under Guest Posts

Leave a Reply

