Author Interview The Fall of the Midnight Scorpions

fallmidnightbanner

I’m interviewing Thea Landen today, author of science-fiction romance “The Fall of the Midnight Scorpions”. Welcome, Thea!

Have you been writing for a long time?

I first started writing fanfic (of varying quality) as a teenager, and then wrote a couple very short stories on literotica in college. It wasn’t until around 2010, when I lost my job, that I started writing more “seriously”.

What inspired you to start a writing career?

Again, I’d been writing fanfic, and I’d been thinking about branching out into original stories. This is going to sound terrible, but when I went on my honeymoon, I loaded up my Kindle with books to read on the beach, and two of them were rather…lackluster. (I won’t name names.) I thought “I can do better!” and set out to write my first book with publication in mind.

Is The Fall of the Midnight Scorpions your first book? If not, can you tell us about your first book?

It is not my first book. In fact, it is a sequel to Disintegration, which came out in 2013. My first published book (that I started writing as soon as I got home from my honeymoon!) was Searching the Skies, which was published in 2012. Searching the Skies is a ménage story in a futuristic setting. There are aliens and spaceships, because I figured, why not?

Why did you choose science-fiction as genre to write in?

I play some video games, and the games I like are mostly in a fantasy or sci-fi setting. I enjoy not being limited by the constraints of the real world. Truthfully, romance stories are basically the same plots told in different ways, and I think sci-fi lets me play around with the standard tropes.

Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?

Write. No, I mean it, write. Making super-detailed outlines doesn’t count as writing. Creating complex histories for every character that shows up in your story, down to the name of the first school they attended, doesn’t count as writing. Telling all your friends (or your blog) about your grandiose ideas doesn’t count as writing. All of those things are important to some extent, but don’t get sidetracked. The only way you’re going to write a book is if you really sit down and write it.

Do you have any works in progress you’d like to tell us about?

My next project is still in its infancy, but sure enough, it’s another sci-fi romance. For reasons I can’t explain, it took me a while to feel comfortable with the idea of human/alien pairings, but I think I might be ready to venture into that realm!

About the Book

midnightScorpion-510Title: The Fall of the Midnight Scorpions

Author: Thea Landen

Genre: Sci-Fi Romance

A year has passed since Ro Bernard escaped from the Midnight Scorpions, a clandestine group of mercenaries that exists in the outside world as little more than myths and rumors. Though haunted by the reprehensible acts she committed and witnessed as a member of the organization, her primary focus is keeping a roof over her head and food on her plate. A chance encounter leads her to Karin Cassels, whose son died in the Scorpions’ underground laboratory. While sharing details about her son’s research, Ro reveals the most disturbing information she has on the group. Their leader, scientist Dane Zedek, has been integrating cybernetic parts with human soldiers in the hopes of building himself a lethal army that will help him achieve even greater political power.

The women hatch a plan to take down the Midnight Scorpions with two ultimate goals: kill Zedek, and rescue Callum, Ro’s lover who was the first of the scientist’s experimental hybrids. For additional assistance, Dr. Cassels directs Ro to Reggie Quinn, a drifter who is no stranger to odd jobs and risky situations. Reggie agrees to join the cause in exchange for a percentage of whatever they loot from the Scorpions’ base.

They embark on an adventure throughout three warring countries to assemble their team and gather the necessary materials for their schemes. Along the way, Ro tries to fight her growing attraction to Reggie, especially as reminders of her unhappy past keep resurfacing. Love and redemption wait for her at the end of her mission to defeat the Midnight Scorpions…assuming she makes it out alive.

Author Bio

Author Thea LandenThea Landen lives in New York with her husband and two children. A former educator, she strives to encourage creativity and passion in all those around her, and uses writing to help inspire. Though she reads and writes in nearly all genres, she has a special fondness for science fiction, fantasy, and adventure and anything that pushes the imagination beyond its usual limits. When she’s not writing, or thinking about writing, her hands and mind are occupied by either yarn crafts or role-playing games.

Contact Details:

Email: thealanden@gmail.com

Website: www.thealanden.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/thealanden

Twitter: www.twitter.com/TheaLanden

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5782229.Thea_Landen

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00948YAXW

Google+: https://plus.google.com/110059409754775712023/posts

Buy Links:

Amazon

Kobo

iTunes

B&N

Double Dragon Publishing

1 Comment

Filed under Author Interviews

One response to “Author Interview The Fall of the Midnight Scorpions

  1. Thanks so much for interviewing me for today! I had a blast!

Leave a Reply

