Author Interviw The Color of Clouds Tour

colorcloudsbanner

I’m hosting an interview with J.C. Whyte, author of paranormal thriller “The Color of Clouds”. 

Have you been writing for a long time?

Very! Even from an early age – eleven, in fact – I saw myself as a writer. That’s when I started putting the stories in my head down on paper. And now I’m a grandma, so that’s a lifetime of writing.

What inspired you to start a writing career?

A wonderful teacher inspired me. It all started when she told my sixth grade class to write a poem about a sport. I figured most kids would write about some popular American sport like baseball or football. Yet never wanting to do what everyone else did, I chose to write about golf. Of course, I didn’t know a lot about the game – aside from what my dad shared with me – but I knew enough to compose some rhyming couplets. And to my complete surprise, the teacher found my poem “Golf the Hard Way” comical enough to encourage me to write some more.

Is The Color of Clouds your first book? If not, can you tell us about your first book?

My first book is Karmack, released as an ebook in 2013 by MuseItUp Publishing, which just came out in paperback this past December. Karmack is a children’s chapter book about a little creature who enters the lives of three bullies in order to boomerang them with their own pranks. The creature’s mission is to balance all the bad karma the boys have amassed over the years, which is substantial. Of course, calamity and hilarity follow as the boys have no idea why they keep getting boomeranged by their own mischief! 

Why did you choose paranormal thriller as the genre for your book?

For years, my scientist husband has been extrapolating on so-called ‘dark matter’, the invisible glue which astrophysicists say holds the universe together. I simply combined my husband’s theory with my own ideas of what lies beyond the physical world. Then I stirred in some fun: a cruise ship adventure with a murder mystery, mixed with a dash of humor and a sprinkling of light romance. The concoction I call The Color of Clouds.

Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?

What works best for me is writing for my own enjoyment. The first book I tried to get published was aimed at the YA market. Although it had a timely plot and a well-intentioned goal of discouraging teen suicide, no one seemed to like it. And a dark subject like that wasn’t any fun for me to write; so when I got too bogged down in the YA novel, I started working on Karmack for my own amusement. But I eventually realized writing something which made me happy had a greater chance of resonating with readers. And to date, my publishing success has come with fun, light-hearted adventures.

Do you have any works in progress you’d like to tell us about?

I do not. But please feel free to send me suggestions. Just keep in mind that I still can’t bring myself to write something that’s already been written about. It’s just the rebel in me. I need a fresh idea to get me fired up enough to write. And sequels? Forget about it. Nothing bores me more than the thought of plopping the same old characters into a new and different setting. Sorry, just can’t do it. : )

About the Book

The Color of Clouds2-2Title: The Color of Clouds

Author: J.C. Whyte

Genre: Sci-Fi / Paranormal Mystery / Thriller

Pedro’s on a mission. But not your everyday, run-of-the-mill type mission. Because Pedro is dead.

That’s right. Dead.

Spirit guide Pedro normally busies himself with conveying messages from departed loved ones through a psychic named Gwen. But when he encounters a recently deceased teenager, the boy’s anguish just about breaks Pedro’s heart. So the spirit guide decides to try and help this boy. Yet meddling in the affairs of the living is a troublesome business, as Pedro soon discovers.

Nevertheless, he convinces Gwen to take an ocean voyage, and that’s when the trouble begins. Within days of leaving port, two passengers on the cruise ship fall into a mysterious coma. Gwen seeks Pedro’s help to restore these passengers, but natural as well as unnatural obstacles keep getting in the way. And by the time the ship docks in Honolulu, the still-living are flat out scrambling for their lives!

A playful blend of science fiction and the paranormal, The Color of Clouds offers a glimpse into the unseen world while taking the reader on an extraordinary ride. The adventure includes danger, mystery, humor, sweet romance and even a dash of thriller.

But the clouds are not what you think.

Author Bio

photo meJ.C. Whyte discovered her love for writing while still in elementary school, creating children’s stories. But as an adult, J.C. had to face the harsh reality that such writing seldom pays the bills. So she earned degrees in both Journalism and Communications, and then turned to Public Relations, where for ten years she focused her creative energies into feature writing.

After marriage, kids, several more degrees and occupations (including stints as a travel agent and paralegal), J. C. entered law school. While there, she became a columnist for the school newsletter and later, one of her humorous articles was even published in The National Jurist.

Graduating and passing the Bar, J.C. realized within a few short years that creative writing was still what made her heart sing. So now, as a grandma, she has returned to where her life’s calling began, beginning in 2013 with publication of her children’s book Karmack and now in 2015 with her first novel for adults, The Color of Clouds.

Links

Goodreads

MuseItUp Publishing

Amazon

B&N

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interviews

Leave a Reply

