Author Interview Snake in the Grass Tour

snakegrassbanner

I’m interviewing Mary Sutton, author of “Snake in the Grass: Hero’s Sword Vol. 4” on my blog. Thanks to the author for answering my questions.

Have you been writing for a long time? What inspired you to start a writing career?
Me: I wrote my first story when I was 13, and I’ve been playing at writing for over 10 years. I’ve been serious about it for about 4 years. I think what changed was that I lost a long-time job and it really prompted me to think what I wanted to do–what I wanted to be when I grew up. What I really wanted to do was write; create something and tell a story. So I started learning how to really be an author.
Is Snake in the Grass your first book? If not, please tell us a little about your first book. 
Me: No. This is the fourth book in the series. My first book (you know, the first one I ever finished and did something with) is called Power Play. In it, you meet Jaycee Hiller, the protagonist. She’s a girl on the outside of the social circle in her school and she thinks she’s happy that way. She gets a new video game controller for her favorite game, Hero’s Sword, and it transports her into the world of the game. And when she’s there, she starts learning life lessons on help her not just survive eighth grade, but thrive.
Why did you choose fantasy as genre for your book?
Me: I’ve always liked reading fantasy. When I was the same age as Jaycee, I loved the idea of making up my own world, although I didn’t play video games. Fantasy allows me to make up situations that Jaycee wouldn’t encounter in real life, but have real-life impact. And I know a lot of kids, including my own, who fantasize about being in their favorite video games, so it seemed like a good fit.
Do you have any advice for aspiring authors? 
Me: Write a lot. Read a lot. Even stuff you don’t necessarily like will help you become a better writer because it will show you how other people have done it. Writing a lot helps with practice, it helps you find the story you’re really passionate about telling, and it helps you develop your author “voice.”
Do you have any works in progress you’d like to tell us about? 
Me: Right now, I’m writing the first draft for the seventh Hero’s Sword book. It doesn’t have a title yet, but it takes Jaycee/Lyla on her furthest geographical journey yet — into the mysterious Eastern estates to find the identity of Dark Blade. And something terribly serious happens to Roger, so learning to handle a quest without him is another lesson for her to learn, although she does have a friend who steps in to go on the quest with her.

About The Book

snakeTitle: Snake in the Grass: Hero’s Sword Vol. 4

Author: M.E. Sutton

Genre: Middle Grade, Adventure, Fantasy

Things are getting interesting at Tanner Middle School. The only official candidate for student council president is Jaycee’s nemesis, Trina Poppelman. Plus there’s a new girl in school. At first glance, she looks like she’d fit right in with the cheerleaders, but Jaycee senses something different about her.

Things are getting interesting in Mallory, too. Lady Starla is expecting an Imperial envoy to discuss new taxes. She plans to oppose the measure and asks Lyla to stand by her side in a show of support. However, when the envoy goes missing, the situation becomes a lot more serious than a proposed tax increase.

In this fourth installment of the Hero’s Sword series, Lyla and Roger hit the road to find a missing envoy before Starla pays the ultimate price for his disappearance. Along the way, Jaycee learns that winning isn’t always the end-game result.

Author Bio

redMary Sutton has been making up stories, and creating her own endings for other people’s stories, for as long as she can remember. After ten years, she decided that making things up was far more satisfying than writing software manuals, and took the jump into fiction.

She writes the HERO’S SWORD middle-grade fantasy series as M.E. Sutton and finds a lot of inspiration in the lives of her own kids. A lifelong mystery fan, she also writes crime fiction, including THE LAUREL HIGHLANDS MYSTERIES, under the pen name Liz Milliron. Her short fiction has been published at Uppagus.com, Mystericale.com (Fall 2013), and in LUCKY CHARMS: 12 CRIME TALES (December 2013).

Links

http://marysuttonauthor.com

https://twitter.com/marysutton73

https://www.facebook.com/AuthorMarySutton

1 Comment

Filed under Author Interviews

One response to “Author Interview Snake in the Grass Tour

  1. Thanks for hosting a stop on the tour!

Leave a Reply

