Guest Post The Kiss of a Rose Tour

kissofarosebanner

I’m hosting a guest post today by Augustina van Hoven, author of paranormal romance “The Kiss of a Rose”. Welcome to my blog, and thank you for allowing me to share this guest post with my readers.

Guest Post

I’d like to thank Editor Charlene’s Blog for hosting my guest blog today. My debut novel, THE KISS OF A ROSE, is at its heart a ghost story. The chorus of the song, Kissed by a Rose sung by Seal was my inspiration to write it. I heard the lyrics of the chorus one day and had a flash of a grave stone partially buried in snow and a blood red rose lying at its base. The rest of the story developed from that point.

            Music plays a large part in my writing process. I love to listen to my favorite songs and have set up several playlists that I use depending on the type of scene I am writing. One of the songs I used while writing the scenes between Stephen and Rose was, She’s like the Wind by Patrick Swayze. I liked the general feel of the song and the way the singer loves someone he has no hope of ever winning. When Stephen starts to realize he’s falling for a ghost this is exactly how he feels.

            Another song that helped me fill out Stephen’s personality was, Waiting for a Girl Like You by Foreigner. For Rose I used an old Beatles song, If I Fell. Given how badly her husband treated her and how she died, Rose would naturally be cautious about getting involved with someone new.

            Music gives inspiration on more than one level. The first thing I notice is the melody. Does it inspire a sad or happy moment? What is the beat like? Does the song help me visualize a love scene or is it fast paced and good for a fight scene? Music really sets the mood. The song I used for any of my graveyard scenes was Danse Macabre by Camille Saint-Saëns.

            I have a large and eclectic music collection and I can generally find just the right song for each scene, even the political ones.

            I am currently working on THE THORN OF A ROSE, which is the sequel to my debut novel. And of course, I’m developing a whole new playlist for this one.

About The Book

Kiss of a Rose_cover (2)Title: The Kiss of a Rose

Author: Augustina Van Hoven

Genre: Paranormal Romance

A DISTANT PAST

In 1882, Rose Van Buren loved the wrong man and paid for it with her life. Now, more than a century later, the angel Gabriel has granted her another shot at living. In exchange, she must convince a smart, handsome, up-and-coming lawyer to set aside his lofty ambitions.

A FUTURE PRESENT

Stephen Winship is headed straight for the governor’s chair. He has a brilliant career, solid allies, and a seemingly perfect girlfriend. But night after night he finds himself dreaming of a heavenly beauty, a luminous but long-dead girl. Like some altered Ghost of Christmas Past, she shows him her own tragic tale in order to “save him.” And he’s beginning to see Rose is risking her heart as much as baring her soul. Yet falling for her will cost him everything—and open him up to a happiness he never imagined.

 

Author Bio

Tina smallAugustina Van Hoven resides in the Pacific Northwest with her husband, two dogs and three cats.   She is an avid reader of romance, science fiction and fantasy.  When she’s not writing she likes to work in her garden or in the winter months crochet and knit on her knitting machines.

 

Links

www.augustinaVanHoven.com

Twitter:  @augustinavhoven

FaceBook:  https://www.facebook.com/pages/Augustina-Van-Hoven-Author/336028986575129

Buy on:

Amazon | B&N | Smashwords | Boroughs Publishing

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Guest Posts

Leave a Reply

