Author Interview The Black Lotus Tour

blacklotusbanner
I’m interviewing Claire Warner today, author of historical romance with a twist, “The Black Lotus”. Welcome to my blog, Claire.
1)      Have you been writing for a long time? What inspired you to start a writing career?

I’ve been writing for most of my life I guess. Whether it was plots that popped into my head at school, fanfiction or snippets of conversation. I think I finally decided to write as a career when I told myself to stop dreaming about writing a book and actually write a book.
2)      Is The Black Lotus your first book? If not, please tell us a little about your first book.

It’s not my first book, my first book is a fantasy novel that is only half completed. I hit the mother of all writers block with it and when we changed computers I forgot to put it on a memory stick.
3) Why did you choose historical as genre for your book?

 I wanted to explore the more interesting bits of history and place the readers in a different world to now.
4) Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?

There will be difficult days when you can barely write worth a damn. I’ve spent twenty minutes attempting to write a single line. Push through the block and realise that writing is hard, particularly if you want to make it as a career.
5) Do you have any works in progress you’d like to tell us about?
I’m currently writing the second novel in the Night Flower series, Blood Orchid. I’m also working on a collection of steampunk inspired short stories and there is a fantasy novel in the works.

About The Book

Black_Lotus__Night_Flower_(Volume_1),_The_-_Claire_WarnerTitle: The Black Lotus

Author: Claire Warner

Genre: Historical Romance with a paranormal twist

….though I would dearly love to play court to you, I would hurt you more than any other.”

It is 1752. The year that will change the life of heiress Melissa De Vire. As she makes her first steps into society, she meets Justin Lestrade and his world tears her perceptions apart. Drawn irresistibly to him, she finds herself sinking into a realm of feuds, magic and old curses.

Author Bio

CosplayBy day I am a boring civil servant, but by night (and at weekends) I write stories. I love fiction, I love the way that words can draw you from your own everyday world.

I love to read. As a child I read all of the Enid Blyton books and devoured Roald Dahl. As a teenager, I discovered LJ Smith, Anne McCaffrey, Tamora Pierce, David Eddings and went through the phase of reading Point Horrors. As an adult, I found Kelley Armstrong, Raymond E Feist, Georgette Heyer, The Brontes, Mary Shelley, Bram Stoker, Sheridan La Fanu and Henry James. I cannot imagine live without books.

Links

Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.comKobobooks Nook
Website

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interviews

Leave a Reply

