Author Interview To Fall in Love Again Release

tofallinloveagainbanner

I’m hosting an interview today for the release day party for romance book “To Fall in Love Again”. Happy release day for the book! You can win a $20 Amazon gift card on the release day – scroll down for more info!

1) Have you been writing for a long time? What inspired you to start a writing career?

I‘ve been writing for about three years, now. I had always thought that I would enjoy writing and, at one point, I was journalism major in college. I was sidetracked, first, by the study of psychology and, then, by the study of statistics. I suppose that, after a while, my creative impulse re-asserted itself! I can’t point to a specific event that caused me to put pen to paper, but I am so glad that I did.

2) Is To Fall in Love Again your first book? If not, please tell us a little about your first book

To Fall in Love Again is my third book. My first was The Reunion. That story revolved around a forty-something year old attorney who wanted to “turn back the clock,” and return to the way he was – how he behaved, the things he enjoyed doing – when he was in high school. Unfortunately, his wife did not share his interest in re-visiting her teen years, and the changes in his life and personality had disastrous results for their marriage.

 

3) Why did you choose romance as genre for your book?

I can’t necessarily say that I chose romance as my genre. I write storied that I enjoy and, so far, each has had a romantic element. In To Fall in Love Again, the story revolves around the developing romance between Drew and Amy. In my other books, especially my second novel, The Handfasting, the romantic element is not as pronounced.

4) Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?

 

Write, write, write. My experience is that the more I write, the better it is.

 

5) Do you have any works in progress you’d like to tell us about?

In my fourth novel, Those Children Are Ours. Jennie Bateman decides to seek court-ordered visitation with the teen-aged daughters with whom she has had no contact since she walked out on her family ten years earlier. How do you convince your former spouse, who is about to remarry, that you do not intend to wreck his family? How do you establish relationships with children who never really knew you? Who view their father’s new wife as their mother? Who live seven hours away? Who have lives of their own that do not include you?

About The Book

To_Fall_in_Love_Again_-_AmazonTitle: To Fall in Love Again

Author: David Burnett

Genre: Romance

Drew Nelson did not plan to talk with anyone that morning. He did not plan to make a new friend. He certainly did not plan to fall in love.

He resisted all of Amy’s attempts to draw him out− at the hotel, at the airport, on the airplane− giving hurried responses and burying his face in a pile of papers. It was only when the flight attendant offered coffee, and a muscle in Amy’s back twitched as she reached for it, and the cup tipped, and the hot liquid puddled in Drew’s lap that they began to talk.

Earlier in the year, each had lost a spouse of over thirty years. Drew’s wife had died of a brain tumor, Amy’s husband when his small airplane nose-dived to earth, the engine at full throttle − an accident, it was ruled.

They live in the same city. Both have grandchildren. They are about the same age. Consciously, or not, they both are looking to love again.

But relationships do not exist in vacuums. Drew is wealthy, and Amy is middle class. Amy is “new” in town – she and her husband moved to Charleston twenty-five years ago – while Drew’s family has lived there for three centuries. Drew lives below Broad, a code word for high society, old families, power, and money. Amy’s home is across the river.

Class warfare may be less violent than it was in the past, but when Drew invites Amy to the St Cecelia Ball, battle lines are drawn. In a city in which ancestry is important, the ball’s membership is passed from father to son, and only those from the oldest families attend.

Family, friends, co-workers all weigh in on their relationship and choose sides. Allies are found in unexpected places. Opposition comes from among those who were thought to be friends. Though they are gone, even their spouses − through things they have done and things they have said − wield influence in the conflict that follows.

Amy begins to suspect that Drew is one of them, the rich snobs who despise her, while Drew concludes that Amy neither trusts him nor cares for him. As each questions the other’s motives, their feelings for each other are tested, and Drew and Amy are challenged to consider if they truly want to fall in love again.

Author Bio

IMG_0519_edited-1I live in Columbia South Carolina, with my wife and our blue-eyed cat, Bonnie. I enjoy traveling, photography, baking bread, and the Carolina beaches.

We have traveled widely in the United States and the United Kingdom. During one trip to Scotland, we visited Crathes Castle, the ancestral home of the Burnett family near Aberdeen.

My photographic subjects have been as varied as prehistoric ruins on the islands of Scotland, star trails, sea gulls, and a Native American powwow.

I went to school for longer than I want to admit, and I have graduate degrees in psychology and education. I was formerly director of research for our state education department.

We have two daughters and three grandchildren. To Fall in Love Again is my third novel.

Links

WebsiteBlogTwitterFacebookAmazon Author PageGoodreads Author

Giveaway

There’s a giveaway for a $20 Amazon gift card on the release day! Follow the link below to participate.

Go here to participate in the giveaway.

1 Comment

Filed under Author Interviews, Release Day Party

One response to “Author Interview To Fall in Love Again Release

  1. Thank you for interviewing me and for taking part in the tour.

Leave a Reply

