Author Interview The Season Between Tour

seasonbetweenbannernew

I’m hosting an interview with Anna Thorne, author of contemporary romance “The Season Between”.

1) Have you been writing for a long time? What inspired you to start a writing career?

            I’ve been writing since I was a kid, just little short stories here and there. I took screenwriting in college and my teacher was quite supportive, and that was the first time I thought that writing might be something I could do professionally. About a year ago, I was working a temp job and was pretty miserable, and a writer friend told me that her publisher was looking for more writers. I sent in a writing sample, and I was hired! I quit my temp job the very next week. I love the feeling of connection that happens when readers are able to step into a world that’s previously existed only in my own head.

 

2) Is The Season Between your first book? If not, please tell us a little about your first book.

The Season Between is my first book that I’ve self-published; I also work as a ghostwriter for a publisher. I can’t share any details about the books that I’ve ghostwritten, but they are also romance novels, though in a different subgenre.

3) Why did you choose contemporary romance as genre for your book?

I don’t know that I chose contemporary romance…I would just say that the stories that I think of are in that genre, so that’s what I write. I suppose that if an idea for a book in another genre comes to me, I’ll write that one! What I like about contemporary romance, though, is that the characters tend to be relatable – people that you might be able to actually meet and be friends with.

4) Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?

There’s no magic to becoming a writer. In fact, the idea of “becoming” a writer is a bit misleading, because if you want to be a writer, you are! You just have to put the work in: sitting down at your computer, every day, and putting words on the page. That’s it. For me, goal-setting is crucial. I aim to write 1500 words a day. It’s a reasonable amount that lets me feel that I’m moving forward, but not too much that I feel overwhelmed. And finally, write your whole first draft without editing too much. Editing at that stage will just get you stuck. Just write the damn thing, whether it’s good or not.

5) Do you have any works in progress you’d like to tell us about?

            My next book is still just a twinkle in my eye, but I think it will be the start of a series and will center on a woman whose husband has just passed away. Her grieving process is complicated by the fact that he was a serial cheater, and the return of his childhood best friend, for whom she develops romantic feelings.

About The Book

chepstein_seasonTitle: The Season Between

Author: Anna Thorne

Genre: Contemporary Romance

She’s a Cape Cod townie.

He’s summering at a seaside manor.

Star-crossed doesn’t even begin to cover it.

When Bea returns to her Massachusetts hometown after a devastating breakup in Rome, all she wants is to save up some money, find a new job, and finally move to Boston. But when she arrives at her childhood home—the garage apartment of a beach estate where her father is the groundskeeper—she realizes that there’s something else she wants. Or rather, someone.

Nick is the grown son of the ultra-rich Hamilton family, the people who employ Bea’s father. Bea grew up nursing a major crush on the handsome boy next door, but never saying two words to him. When Bea unexpectedly finds herself at the Hamilton family’s annual masquerade ball, however, she discovers that Nick is very interested in getting to know her as a grown up, brilliant knockout.

Despite their vast and varied differences—not to mention the implicit disapproval of their friends and family—Bea and Nick won’t be kept away from each other. For the first time, Bea feels sexy, respected, and taken care of…in every way imaginable and then some. Their passionate fling heats up at the summer wears on. But will the sudden appearance of an ex-flame leave Bea feeling burned?

Find out in Anna Thorne’s debut novel, The Season Between.

Stand alone. No cliff hanger. Contents suitable for adults only.

Author Bio

I grew up in Maryland, went to college in Tennessee, and now live with my boyfriend in New York. I’ve ghostwritten romance novels for a long time, and am so excited to be sharing my own voice with readers. When I’m not writing, I enjoy swimming, finding happy hour deals, and taking orders from my cat.

Links

www.annathorne.com
Buy from Amazon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interviews

Leave a Reply

