Guest Post Waiting For You Release Day

waitingbanner

I’m hosting a guest post today to celebrate the release day of “Waiting For You”, a contemporary romance novel by Heather Huffman. I’ll leave the stage to the author now. She’ll talk about chance encounters.

Guest Post: Chance Encounters

As a writer, I’m fascinated by the chance encounters in life – those moments that hold the possibility of a turning point. A people-watcher through and through, I love to catch glimpses of these moments. My mind loves to wander down paths of what-ifs. I wonder if I’m seeing the first hint of a romance unfolding.

Sometimes seeing these encounters sparks a story inside me. Sometimes they remind me of my own chance encounters.

Like when I was sixteen, visiting San Francisco, the city of my dreams. Back home, I wasn’t the kind of girl boys noticed. But in California, something changed. Maybe I changed. Whatever the reason, members of the opposite gender were noticing me, and I was loving it.

One particular day, my mom and I decided to take the bus from our downtown hotel to the Pacific coast. After a day of exploring little coastal towns and marveling at trees so wind-battered they were growing sideways, Mom and I hopped what we hoped was the right bus home.

About halfway there, someone tapped my shoulder. I turned to find a furry puppet in my face. I laughed, startled. My interest was quickly drawn to the man attached to the puppet, though. He had dark hair and a charming smile. He told me I had a beautiful smile. My entire life, people have made fun of my huge smile. It was the first time anyone had ever told me it was beautiful.

The ensuing conversation revealed that he was in the Navy and was returning to his base after spending the day at a local children’s hospital to entertain them with the puppet who’d made our introductions. I was so engrossed in the conversation with him that I didn’t realize we had the attention of the entire bus. When I did, I blushed. Still, I’d never felt so special as I did in that moment.

He gave me his contact information before getting off at his stop, where he blew me a kiss and watched the bus pull away. I know. I watched him, too.

For the next two days, I treasured that slip of paper, which was tucked away in my suitcase for safe keeping. Then, on the third day, I noticed it was gone. A frantic search of the hotel room turned up nothing. With no way to track down this mystery man, I spent the rest of the trip mourning what might have been.

Maybe a lost slip of paper changed the course of my destiny. I can’t say what would have happened if I’d kept in touch with him. I do know that our chance encounter is a memory I’ll always treasure.

Waiting For You

waitingforyoucoverTitle: Waiting for You

Author: Heather Huffman

Release date: May 7, 2014

Print ISBN: 978-1-62015-396-3
epub ISBN: 978-1-62015-406-9

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Waiting-You-Heather-Huffman-ebook/dp/B00JK1G85Q

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/21845743-waiting-for-you

Blurb: For years, Karise McAlister has been running: from her family, from herself, and from her dreams. Now she’s made it, with a successful career and a promising engagement. But when she meets the compelling and creative Aidan Donnelly, his down-to-earth charm provides the wakeup call Karise badly needs. Moving across country to start over, Karise devotes herself to her work, convinced she needs to be independent. But with handsome Aidan just down the road and a mischievous group of friends determined to set her up, Karise must face her concerns about life and romance head-on.

Tagline: Sometimes a single spark is all it takes to change your life for good.

Author Bio

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERAHeather Huffman calls the beautiful Missouri Ozarks home. When not writing, this homesteading mother is busy raising three boys or tending the family’s myriad of animals, which includes alpacas, goats, chickens and ducks. Huffman’s optimistic and somewhat quirky view of life often finds its way into her novels.
Heather is the author of Throwaway, Ties that Bind, Jailbird, Suddenly a Spy, Ring of Fire, Tumbleweed, Devil in Disguise, Roses in Ecuador and Fool’s Game. You can find out more about her family’s adventures as they strive to live off the land, as well as her writing and charitable work on http://www.heatherhuffman.net.

Leave a comment

Filed under Guest Posts

Leave a Reply

