Guest Post Firebolt Book Tour

fireboltbanner

I’m hosting a guest post today for the “Firebolt” book tour. “Firebolt” is a YA fantasy novel by author Adrienne Woods. I’ll leave the word to Adrienne now. Enjoy!

Guest post: A time before Paegeia and the dragons.

So everyone is asking lately how I came up with Paegeia, the riders and their dragons.
To make a long story short, it all started in 2009 when I’d just finished my first novel in the Zodiac Series. It’s an aswang novel, meaning half vampire, half werewolf and it’s based on Philippine myths. I had so much fun writing it and I think it’s where the bug bit me, I couldn’t stop.
What I didn’t bargain on was doing query letters, getting agents to see it. Not an easy thing to do.
I can easily write a novel of 150 000 words, but when it comes to a 250 word query letter, I suck.
I think I used to spend months on Agentqueryconnect, an awesome site that helps you to mould these little suckers in to something agent worthy, but still, I couldn’t get the hang of it. Only later did an agent, bless her soul, take the time to tell me that the market was full. No more vampires, especially when you are a first time author. She told me that the best way to break into the business was to get my name out there with something else and then try to publish the Zodiac series.
I was a bit bummed out, but they know what they are talking about, so I decided to write the Dragonian Series, not knowing that it was going to go the same route as the Zodiac series. The market was full.
But I didn’t give up. It took me about a week to imagine the entire series and about a month to see everything played out in my head. I wish I could say that it was just as easy to get it on paper, but it wasn’t. I think that is the hardest part, apart from editing and revising.
My original title was going to be The Dragon Glider Series and Firebolt was first The King of Lions. But this title, although very catchy, sounded a bit to MG. So I changed it to Firebolt, as I started to query agents and small publishers.
Lucky to say, Firebolt landed on Kitty Bullard of GMTA Publishing’s desk, and she loved it from the first page. She emailed me immediately with a contract. I also got a positive response from three other small presses that wanted it, but I decided to go with GMTA, as I could keep my awesome editor, Hillery York, with whom I couldn’t make this dream a reality.
I’ve met awesome people along the way,  Mary Park – my cover artist, Grace and Rebecca, my proof readers, and now I think the hardest part of it all, is the waiting.
I really do hope that each and every one of you that is going to spend some time in the pages of Firebolt, book One of The Dragonian Series, will love it as much as I embrace writing it.
Kind Wishes,
Adrienne Woods

About Firebolt

firebolt_title2Title: Firebolt

Author: Adrienne Woods

Genre: YA Fantasy

For the love of blueberries, Elena Watkins was destined for greatness, even though she didn’t know it. Before entering Paegeia Elena was not special, she wasn’t even average until the night her father was killed by a creature she thought only existed in fairy tales – a dragon. With her father’s death leaving her orphaned, Elena is whisked away to her true birthplace, Paegeia. Arriving at Dragonia Academy, the premier school for young Dragonians; a school she was never meant to attend because her father was a dragon. Unbeknownst to Elena danger is lurking behind the enchanted vines concealing the once thriving capital of Paegeia – Etan. Goran, the darkest sorcerer in the realm, has lain dormant for over a century behind the crumbling city. There, in the shadowy ruins he plots his revenge to destroy the only weapon that can kill him – the King of Lion Sword. When the sword is stolen without a trace Elena doesn’t think twice about seeking it; knowing deep down that it is her destiny to save her new home.

Author Bio

ErikaAdrienne Woods lives in South Africa with her husband and two little girls. She writes full time and also in different genre’s. She has different pen names, one for every genre.

Melony/Kristen Ping For NA, sub genres could be anything. From paranormal to Mythology.

Isabella White for Woman’s fiction/Erotica

Adrienne Woods for YA. When she’s not writing, she’s reading books or help other authors to get their work notice through her blog ADRIENNE WOODS BOOKS AND REVIEWS.

You can reach Adrienne Woods at the following links

G+: https://plus.google.com/103613266023743368283/posts

Blog: http://woodsadrienne.wordpress.com

Blog: http://thedragonianseries.blogspot.com

Twitter: erichb3

facebook:https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Dragonian-Series/301375039891281?ref=hl

Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7219081.Adrienne_Woods

Leave a comment

Filed under Guest Posts

Leave a Reply

