Author Interview with Grant Reed

bannergarrettsmulligan

I’m hosting an interview today with Grant Reed, the author of mystery/humor novel “Garrett’s Mulligan”. Enjoy the interview!

Author Interview

1) How long have you been writing?

When I was a little boy, I was pretty creative and liked drawing and making up short fantastical stories. I started writing when I was about 17, but I knew from the age of 10 that I wanted to tell stories. My grandmother had an old typewriter (I think it was from the 40’s or so) and when my brother Gary (my twin) and I were about 10 we typed up a fantasy story using all of the people  in our family as the main characters. I remember my grandmother seemed pretty impressed with the length of it (despite the “N” key not working). Their enjoyment of our humorous attempt inspired me to write longer stories.

2) Is Garrett’s Mulligan your first novel? If not, please tell us a little about your first book.

My first Novel is titled “Shadow of the Makarios” and was completed when I was 22. My daughter had just been born and I was off work for a year. I spent the year changing diapers, cranking up the old baby swing, and writing like a mad man. Here is the blurb on it:

Eyndegaria, a peaceful country nestled in the middle of the Freelands. Once, long ago, her rich soils were the battlefield for a war between the Makarios tribe and the people of the mainland. A thousand years of rest has seen her countrymen grow complacent and the threat of their forefathers dismissed. The Makarios have not forgotten though and will stop at nothing to free their imprisoned brethren.
There is one who remembers the tale of these horrific hunters and he has spent a lifetime preparing for their return. Now an old man, he must convince an officer of the watch and a grieving swordsman that theirs is the light that will push back the shadow of the Makarios.

3) Tell us about Garrett’s Mulligan.

After writing “Funny Fruit” and “The Cassadian Chalice”, two humorous fantasy novels with my brother, I wanted to keep writing in the world I had created, but for me the characters were getting a little stale. At the time I was watching the “Magnum P.I. TV series with my wife, and I thought to myself, I like a good case or mystery, why don’t I advance the kids from the first two books to my age (31 at the time) and just have a little fun with them. So I did, and I haven’t looked back.

4) Why did you choose “mystery” as a genre for your novel?

I wanted to challenge myself and see what I could do. My first three books although fun to write were adventure and humor, and I found them fairly easy to entertain myself (and hopefully others). I’ve always enjoyed a good mystery and I wanted to see if I could do it to my satisfaction, (while putting a few spins on it and keeping the humor…)

5) Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?

If you KNOW that writing is what you are supposed to do, then don’t let anyone change your mind.

6) Do you have any works in progress you’d like to tell us about?

I am currently working on my 6th novel and the next Vellian Mystery with Garrett and Merle and the gang! (it’s about 20% written)

Garrett’s Mulligan

garrettsmulliganfrontTitle: Garrett’s Mulligan

Author: Grant Reed

Genre: Humor / Fantasy / Mystery

At thirty-one Garrett Willigins has finally earned his private investigator’s badge. Unfortunately, the bills haven’t stopped coming and building a solid reputation won’t happen overnight. Forced to take employment wherever they can, Garrett and his miniature dragon partner Merle, must dirty their hands any way possible to make a buck. Shoveling manure, chasing cats, and dock duty seem to be the order of the day.
Working off back rent for a notorious gangster isn’t the safest of jobs on a good day, but when the other workers start turning up dead, Garrett finds himself elbow deep in a mystery that could spell a quick end to his short P.I. career.

Author Bio

Grant Reed has a background in business management, computer programming, and computer networking.  He would much rather be out fishing though, so he spends his time writing and working contract jobs. He lives in Lively Ontario, Canada with his wife Robin, and their two children Aidan and Megan


Links

Kindle:

http://www.amazon.com/Garretts-Mulligan-ebook/dp/B00DPI2ZPC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1375275568&sr=8-1&keywords=garrett%27s+Mulligan

Paperback:

http://www.amazon.com/Garretts-Mulligan-Mr-Grant-Reed/dp/1477407723/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1375275701&sr=8-2&keywords=garrett%27s+Mulligan

Website:

http://www.reedboys.ca/

Author Page on Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Grant-Reed/e/B007WKB2RG

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interviews

Leave a Reply

